If I Stand

There was a singer/songwriter whose music speaks to me, today, as I ponder the Scripture passages for this coming Sunday, when we’ll be celebrating the harvest, and giving thanks to the One who has provided.  Rich Mullins, who wrote the praise song “Our God is an Awesome God” (which has verses, though many people are only familiar with the chorus), used to sing The Color Green (I won’t fault him for an American spelling of an English word if you won’t!), and as I pondered the passages (Psalm 65; Deuteronomy 8:7-18; Luke 17:11-19) I found the lyrics to its chorus in my mind:

“Be praised for all Your tenderness by these works of Your hands
Suns that rise and rains that fall to bless and bring to life Your land
Look down upon this winter wheat and be glad that You have made
Blue for the sky and the color green that fills these fields with praise”

A song of thanksgiving, for God’s goodness in the faithfulness of the seasons’ passing and the days’ running.  Would that we were moved to such hymns of thankful praise in our daily bustle.  Maybe you are – I’d love to hear about it!  At any rate, Rich Mullins was in a tragic accident and left this earth years ago.  My mind moved on to another of his songs, a song of intent: If I Stand.  I am including the full song lyrics below.  Could such a thing be our prayer for the foundation of our lives?  Could it be yours?  Could it be mine?

There’s more that rises in the morning
Than the sun
And more that shines in the night
Than just the moon
It’s more than just this fire here
That keeps me warm
In a shelter that is larger
Than this room

And there’s a loyalty that’s deeper
Than mere sentiments
And a music higher than the songs
That I can sing
The stuff of Earth competes
For the allegiance
I owe only to the Giver
Of all good things

So if I stand let me stand on the promise
That you will pull me through
And if I can’t, let me fall on the grace
That first brought me to You
And if I sing let me sing for the joy
That has born in me these songs
And if I weep let it be as a man
Who is longing for his home

There’s more that dances on the prairies
Than the wind
More that pulses in the ocean
Than the tide
There’s a love that is fiercer
Than the love between friends
More gentle than a mother’s
When her baby’s at her side

And there’s a loyalty that’s deeper
Than mere sentiments
And a music higher than the songs
That I can sing
The stuff of Earth competes
For the allegiance
I owe only to the Giver
Of all good things

So if I stand let me stand on the promise
That you will pull me through
And if I can’t let me fall on the grace
That first brought me to You
And if I sing let me sing for the joy
That has born in me these songs
And if I weep let it be as a man
Who is longing for his home

And if I stand let me stand on the promise
That you will pull me through
And if I can’t let me fall on the grace
That first brought me to You
And if I sing let me sing for the joy
That has born in me these songs
And if I weep let it be as a man
Who is longing for his home

And if I weep let it be as a man
Who is longing for his home

What do you stand on?  If at its most basic level, faith is trust in something, and therefore all people are people of faith – what is it that your faith is in?  What is your life based on the stability of?  Joshua’s challenge to the people of Israel, as they settled into the land of plenty, was to choose whom they would serve – which is the same question, and makes the same point.  And so it may be a bold statement to make, but I will echo his words: as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.

This entry was posted in Church Year, Lections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

